FIELD NOTE / Venue guide

Tokyo's big clubs: where should you actually go?

Tokyo's big clubs compared only on what the clubs and the press say: how nights are billed, how the door is priced, who admits 18-year-olds, and where to go for what.

Crowd under moving-head lights on a big club main floor (AI-generated image)
AI-generated image (Codex)

Tokyo’s big clubs have great-looking websites and are weirdly bad at telling you the basics. What’s on tonight? How much is the door? Will they turn you away in those shoes? You often have to dig through three pages, a PDF and a ticketing widget to find out.

So I went through the official sites of the big clubs in Shibuya, Roppongi, Ginza, Shinjuku, Omotesando and Daikanyama, plus what the press has published about them, and lined up only what’s actually written down. Everything here was checked on October 14, 2026.

One thing to be upfront about: this site’s day job is listing small clubs and DJ bars every day. We don’t collect events from the big clubs. They’re covered here as a guide, the facts you’d want before you go. A few venues, like CIRCUS TOKYO, ENTER, VENT and Daikanyama UNIT, do show up in the daily listings too. The full club-by-club fact tables live in the big club list (Japanese page), and there’s a club map as well.

What counts as a “big club” here

Roughly: clubs that hold several hundred to well over a thousand people. Among the clubs that publish a number themselves, T2 SHINJUKU says 1,500, ZOUK TOKYO says up to 1,000, BAIA SHIBUYA says 600 or more, and TK NIGHTCLUB says up to 500 (in its rental guide).

Plenty of famous names, WOMB included, don’t publish a capacity at all. The figures floating around in the press are often years old, or describe a floor layout that no longer exists, so in this guide a capacity number either comes with who said it and when, or it doesn’t appear. The per-area numbers are in the area guide.

For the record on closures: SOUND MUSEUM VISION and Contact in Shibuya closed in September 2022 because of redevelopment (Time Out Tokyo). ageHa ended its run in Shinkiba in January 2022 when STUDIO COAST closed (FASHIONSNAP), and now keeps going as an event brand without a fixed venue (ageHa’s own site).

Music room or party room? Look at how the club presents itself

People in the Tokyo scene talk about 音箱 (a “music box”, where the crowd came for the sound) and チャラ箱 (a “party box”, where the social, flirty side is up front). The terms are explained in Tokyo club types. They’re slang and a bit judgemental, so rather than sticking a label on anyone, here’s how each club presents itself on its own site.

ClubHow nights are announcedDoor pricingSound system, per the club
WOMBDJ names + genre tagsPer eventImported from New York (no model given)
VENTDJ names; “techno/house specialist”Per eventDedicated sound page
ZEROTOKYOEvent names + genre tagsPer eventAdamson
clubasiaDJ names + genre tagsPer eventMartin Audio (spec sheet)
ENTERDJ names + genre fieldPer eventNot stated
ZOUK TOKYOGenre in each event blurbPer event; some nights gender-splitVOID Acoustics
HARLEMParty names + DJ namesGender + time slotsL-Acoustics
SEL OCTAGON TOKYOParty names + DJ namesGender + time slotsVOID
TK NIGHTCLUBDate + DJ names onlyFixed table, gender-splitd&b (rental guide)
T2 SHINJUKUWeekday name + DJ namesFixed table, gender-splitd&b
WARP SHINJUKUWeekly parties + genresFixed table, gender-splitNot stated
V2 TOKYOWeekly party names onlyFixed; women free all nightVOID (equipment PDF)
ATOM TOKYO / ATOM SHINJUKUNo scheduleFixed table, gender-splitNot stated
CÉ LA VI TOKYOGuest-DJ highlights onlyFixed, gender-splitMARTIN AUDIO (landlord’s release)
CLUB CAMELOTSaturdays only, genres listedGender + time slotsNo model given
BAIA SHIBUYAWeekly residencies onlyNo door price on siteNot stated
1 OAK TOKYOWeekly party names onlyNo amount on siteNot stated

Announcing nights by DJ name and genre, no gender split on the door, and saying something about the sound system: WOMB, VENT and ZEROTOKYO tick all three. That lines up with the “music box” description, a club putting the music first.

The opposite pattern is a club that announces nights by weekday or theme without genres, with a gender-split price table and VIP bottle prices front and centre. Those are the elements the “party box” description is built from.

In practice the signals get mixed, and that’s worth knowing. HARLEM splits its door by gender, but its own site describes it as Japan’s “holy land of hip-hop” and publishes its L-Acoustics equipment list. SEL OCTAGON TOKYO and ZOUK TOKYO both publish their sound systems too. ATOM TOKYO and ATOM SHINJUKU have women-only seating and floor areas and say outright that excessive pick-up attempts on women aren’t allowed. So make your own call, and remember the same club can swing from night to night. The event page for the night you’re going is the best guide.

So where should you go?

If the music is the point

VENT is the clearest case. It describes itself as a techno and house specialist and has a page dedicated to its speakers (made by the Japanese maker TAGUCHI) and the room’s acoustic treatment. Time Out Tokyo (2025) singles out the same thing: the sound system and a cult following of music lovers.

WOMB tags every event page with genres. Its autumn 2026 listings were mostly techno, followed by house and tech house, across four floors. For hip-hop, HARLEM describes itself as Japan’s holy land of hip-hop since it opened in 1997, and lists its main speaker setup on its site.

If you want big international names, ZOUK TOKYO and ZEROTOKYO both had overseas headliners on their autumn 2026 schedules: MISS MONIQUE (October 17) and SEBASTIAN INGROSSO (November 20) at ZOUK, Axwell (October 16) and Steve Angello (December 18) at ZEROTOKYO. WOMB had Hernan Cattaneo (November 7) and Joseph Capriati (November 22) lined up. ZEROTOKYO says it runs more than 100 Adamson speakers across its floors. Those nights cost noticeably more than a regular night, so have a look at the price guide first.

If it’s your first time and you want to keep it cheap

On the published October 2026 prices, weekday early hours are the cheapest way in. TK NIGHTCLUB charges men ¥500 and women ¥300 (two drinks included) from 10pm to 1am, Sunday to Thursday. HARLEM is ¥500 with a drink until 1am, Tuesday to Thursday. WOMB’s weekday parties (WTW, ASIA TECH) were ¥1,500 on the door, and ENTER is often ¥1,500 on weekdays too.

In Shinjuku, T2 SHINJUKU is ¥1,000 for everyone on weekdays before midnight, and WARP SHINJUKU is ¥1,000 for men and ¥800 for women on weekdays before midnight.

If you’re nervous about the door, TK NIGHTCLUB and ZOUK TOKYO are the easiest to prepare for. Both have FAQs covering ID, dress, lockers and re-entry in one place.

If you’re 18 or 19

Only two clubs in this guide say on their own sites that they admit 18-year-olds: TK NIGHTCLUB and T2 SHINJUKU. Both exclude high-school students and check ID. TK NIGHTCLUB advertises free entry all night for 18- and 19-year-olds (a different page on its site mentions free weekday entry for 25 and under). T2 SHINJUKU accepts plastic student ID cards with a photo.

Every other club here that puts a number on it says 20 and over (HARLEM just says minors are refused). Drinking is 20+ everywhere in Japan, whatever the door policy. More on how age checks work in how old do you have to be for a Tokyo club.

If you want to be home at a sensible hour

Among clubs that publish closing times, MAHARAJA ROPPONGI closes earliest: 7pm to midnight, Monday to Thursday. It’s a different kind of place, though. It calls itself a “club & disco”, and its official capacity is 250.

CLUB CAMELOT reopened in October 2026 on Saturdays only, opening at 6pm, with 6pm to 11pm billed as the “early session”. WARP SHINJUKU opens at 9pm, and says the stretch until the last train is “party time” with songs everyone knows, followed by “club time” with the DJs’ own selections until morning. V2 TOKYO also opens at 9pm every night.

If you’re going as a group and want a table

With VIP, the number that matters is the minimum spend. The friendliest published option is WOMB’s PREMIUM LOUNGE: ¥10,000 per person for two hours, entry included, drinks extra, a 15% service charge, and normally no minimum. MAHARAJA ROPPONGI’s VIP rooms are a ¥2,000 or ¥3,000 table charge per person for two hours (entry and drinks extra) and open to anyone. TK NIGHTCLUB runs a VIP happy hour every night from 10pm to 1am, from ¥15,000 with a bottle.

At the top end, CÉ LA VI TOKYO’s weekend minimum is ¥300,000, SEL OCTAGON TOKYO’s top TIER1 PREMIUM table (eight people) is ¥300,000 at weekends, and ATOM TOKYO’s ROYAL package is ¥299,000 at weekends. The full VIP comparison is in the price guide.

Where the official sites trip you up

Some clubs put the price table right on the front page (ATOM TOKYO, TK NIGHTCLUB, V2 TOKYO). Others only show it once you open the event page (WOMB, clubasia, ZEROTOKYO), inside the ticket checkout (ZOUK TOKYO), or not at all (BAIA SHIBUYA, 1 OAK TOKYO). Where to find prices is covered in the price guide, and dress codes and ID in the dress code and ID guide.

Prices and rules change, so check the club’s own site before you head out.

ARTICLE END / NEXT

Easier to read tonight's room than tonight's words

What you've just read locks in once you're on the floor. Pick something close in time and close in size.

This week's index → This week →

Upcoming dates